Schrack Technik GmbH, Wien

Copper Cabling Basics

The international ISO/IEC standard is almost identical with the European EN standard. In contrary to the American TIA/EIA standard they differentiate categories and classes. A category specifies the methods and values by which individual components must be tested. This means that individual components can only be tested and specified according to a category. By connecting products which meet a certain common category the complete system is defined by this category. The component meeting the lowest category defines the value of the class.

Timeline ISO/IEC & EN

Network Applications

The following Ethernet network applications are specified for the classes D to FA in the EN 50173-1 standard:

10 Gigabit Ethernet

10 Gigabit Ethernet is transferred over all 4 pairs, full duplex with 2.5 Gbit/s per pair, at an operating frequency of 417 MHz.
AlienNEXT (Alien Near End Crosstalk) is the interference of a signal from one pair of a cable to a pair of another cable.

Differences ISO/IEC & EN CAT. 6A - TIA/EIA Cat. 6A

Segregation of Metallic Information Technology Cabling and Power Supply Cabling

The EN 50174-2 standard describes the segregation of metallic information technology cabling and power supply cabling

The segregation distances depend on the following factors:

• The electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) of the information technology cable
o Coupling attenuation for shielded symmetrical cables
o Transverse conversion loss (TCL) for non-shielded symmetrical cables
o Screening attenuation for asymmetrical (coaxial) cables and twin axial cables
• The design of the power supply cable
• The dimensions of the power supply cable and the type of the powered electric circuit
• The existence of segregators between the information technology cabling and the power supply cabling.

The segregation distances are determined according to the EN 50174-2 standard (Segregation of Metallic Information Technology Cabling and Power Supply Cabling).

Measuring Methods

The following methods of measurement are used to obtain acceptance test measurements:

Permanent Link - Without Patchcords.

Channel - With Patchcords.

Differences 2 and 4-Connector Channel

2-Connector Channel

 The 2-connector channel is the type generally used.

4-Connector Channel

The 4-connector channel is rarely used. Basically, it consists of two additional connectors added to a 2-connector channel. This channel is harder to sustain. Therefore, the components must be precisely adjusted to one another.